In the Face of Fate

In the Face of Fate

Originally Written 11/02/2016

There comes a time in a man’s life where he has to make a choice. To decide where his path will take him. To grab life. To spit fate in the face and create their own destiny.

It’s amazing how often this is not the case, however. Where fate is just accepted as the norm and mediocrity is the path of least resistance.

“I’m not good enough.”

“This is just who I am.”

“I will never amount to anything except for what I have.”

Depressive narrative and banal thoughts slog through the mind like swimming through thick molasses. A dream becomes a fictitious fantasy, permeating the soul with doubt.  Acceptance of failure.

Today, I spit in fate’s face.

Today, I decide to live.

Leave a Reply

